Thank You for All the Support

In the spirit of honesty, I’m going to be share my experience over the last few days… After my short-short story, “Heated Argument” (https://themagzee.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/heated-arguement/), was “Freshly Pressed,” I watch the number of followers of my blog climb with growing anxiety. I was proud, encouraged, and felt supported, but the anxiety literally blocked it all out. It’s the reason I’ve almost completely avoided my blog since I heard that “Heated Argument” was going to be Freshly Pressed. It’s kind of ridiculous, because, let’s be honest, writers love the feedback. We love to know that our words are being read. And, all of the likes and the words you’ve shared with me have been nothing but encouraging. I don’t want anyone to think that I don’t appreciate all of the support, because I genuinely do! I feel the love, under the deep layer of anxiety. Haha.

I’ve mentioned the problems I have with anxiety before, and that’s the thing about anxiety, like fear, sometimes it’s just not all that logical. And, the best way for me to deal with it is to just post something, try to use the anxiety to push myself forward (plus, I’m really behind on the Zero to Hero challenge now), and not look back. I guess I feel the pressure to say something of substance, now that it’s more than 10 followers. Of course, maybe I should have felt that pressure all along…

I look forward to checking out all of your blogs and thank you, again, for all of the encouraging words you’ve all shared. You’re all awesome!

Also, I’m at a loss for what to do for my new challenge this week. I went to bed Sunday night, fully intending on not watching TV for a week, but woke up Monday, unable to function without watching a some with breakfast. Try again the next day, you say? I did. Same thing happened. I may try one more time, but since the week is halfway over and my hometown is now covered in snow for the next few days, what else am I supposed to do?

Song I’m listening to as I press “Publish”: Skinny Love by Bon Iver – a song that calms me (give it a listen)

5 thoughts on “Thank You for All the Support

  1. From one anxiety-ridden blogger to another, you’re doing a fantastic job. I’m practicing discipline as well. I tend to find if I sit in front of a blank page long enough, something good usually pours out. Good luck!

  2. As I write this I am sending you calming energy. You are an incredible writer. I’m new to the blogging world, but I am in awe of your courage, your internal fortitude, and your kind heart. Don’t forget…..the anxiety is just an illusion; it is not who you really are! Big hugs, Cher xo

      • I know about anxiety first-hand as well. One day, I started to realize that the anxiety was based on a lot of situations I dealt with; but then, it dawned on me that it wasn’t ‘me’ it was just the way I handled things. Yes, please remind yourself it isn’t actually you at all. It’s more of an illusion!! Now, back to sending you calming energy!!! Cher xo

Talk to me...

