New Adventure #2: Made Dinner

New Adventure: made an entire meal by myself with all fresh ingredients.

Today, I completed the second of my new experiences for 2014. I know, it’s a little sad… I’m a 28-year-old who’s never made a whole meal for herself. Well, now I have. I’ve recently been making vegetables in different ways, which I found is kind of relaxing (despite the pain it causes my back), as long as I get to play my music.

I made grilled chicken, sauteed zucchini, boiled potatoes, and roasted yellow squash… all by myself!!

Yum

Yum

I cheated a little with the chicken… I used a George Forman Grill. Seeing as our oven has been broken for years and the small upper-over (I don’t know what it’s called) doesn’t work all that well, the GFG was my best option. It turned out pretty well. And, it only takes like 6-8 minutes.

My favorite was the sauteed zucchini. I thought I was pretty much a pro at making zucchini at this point, but I added a few garlic cloves to the mix, which I have never done before, and it really enhanced the flavor. I didn’t think it was possible for zucchini to get any better. I could have eaten an entire meal of this zucchini. It was just zucchini, olive oil, and a few chopped garlic cloves.

photo 1

Sauteed zucchini with chopped garlic cloves.

I also made red-skinned boiled potatoes, but I kind of over-cooked them. Oh, well, they were pretty good. Kind of blah.

Boiled red skin potatoes

Boiled red skin potatoes

The last thing I made did NOT work out all that well. It was cubed roasted yellow squash, margarine (I couldn’t bring myself to use butter), brown sugar and cinnamon and was meant to be a healthy dessert. I put it on a cookie sheet covered in aluminum foil in the over at 350 degrees for 20-40 minutes. All the pieces pretty much burnt on one side, and, yet, weren’t cooked all the way through. I was kind of over it at this point, though.

Mixing yellow squash, margarine, brown sugar and cinnamon

Mixing yellow squash, margarine, brown sugar and cinnamon

The finished product... not so great.

The finished product… not so great.

Lessons learned:
– One simple ingredient can change the flavor drastically.
– It’s difficult to cook more than one thing at a time! You have to juggle so much and remember how long things have to cook for. It’s overwhelming.
– Worst part of cooking: cleaning up afterwards. Well, I already knew this, but tonight reaffirmed it.
– It was kind of nice.

What I’m playing when I press publish: Skinny Love by Bon Iver

4 thoughts on “New Adventure #2: Made Dinner

  1. Hey, thank you for sharing. I’m another 33 yo woman that never made a whole meal for myself too. I just get interested lately. I start with something really simple such as steam egg. Your cooking looks good.

  2. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Talk to me...

