Don’t Let Your Illness Define You

As part of the Zero to Hero blogger challenge, I want to share a blog post that really resonated with me: http://noonegetsflowersforchronicpain.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/do-not-let-your-illness-define-you/

The overall message is to not let “your illness define you,” which is exactly one of the main reasons I started blogging: to focus on other things in my life, aside from the pain.

I haven’t stopped looking for ways to improve my chronic pain, but I have come to accept that there is no “cure.” There are things that make it better and things that make it worse. The first step is acceptance of the situation. With the recent changes in pain medication legislation in Virginia, I’ve been forced to stop (with no warning) the opioid treatment I was on. So, I’ve been going through a lot of changes in the last few months. It’s something I’ll have to deal with for the rest of my life, because discs can’t repair themselves, but “there’s got to be a way through it.”

The author of the blog post, Noonegetsflowersforchronicpain, says that they had been looking for a cure for 10 years. I’ve been at it for 6. I can’t imagine losing another 4 years in doctors’ office waiting rooms, getting my hopes up for nothing, getting sick from different medications, and not really seeing any improvement. That doesn’t mean that I’m not doing anything. I’m just approaching it a different way. Healthier eating, no sugar (which is REALLY challenging), no salt, warmer climate (not an immediate change), and drinking hot beverages make me feel better (not always, of course).

Please share anything (other than prescription medicine) that helps you. I’d appreciate it.

One thought on “Don’t Let Your Illness Define You

Talk to me...

